So one of the blogs I follow (Afthead) challenged me to participate in a listing of ten things I love and hate. So here’s my list:

1. I hate iceburg lettuce. (Hi, afthead!) But I also hate Kale. Give me a good bunch of romaine lettuce any day!

2. I hate hothouse tomatoes (most of what you find in grocery stores and restaurants). It was mostly all my parents bought when I was younger, and I always wondered why you would put a slimy slice of red/green nothing on your sandwiches. Cause that’s what it tasted like- nothing. But home-grown tomatoes? Flavorful and yummy!

3. I have a love/hate relationship with mushrooms. I love the taste, but I can’t stand the texture. Unless they are chopped very fine- they will hit my gag reflex. And eating, after something makes you want to upchuck? That’s not fun. Same goes for bananas. Love the flavor, but the texture does not love me.

4. I LOVE funnel cakes. I only get to eat them once or twice a year, so my love for them has never diminished. They are positively FANTASTIC. And yes, I know there are mixes you can buy in the store, but they don’t taste the same. They have to have that carnival/fair/festival magic on them.

5. I LOVE cheese. Mostly cheddar varieties (yes, that includes American cheese. It’s just a washed out cheddar), but also Muenster, Provolone, Swiss, Havarti, Mozarrella, and others. Pretty much if it’s not too soft, not too hard, and not too stinky- I will eat it.

6. I hate couscous, quinoa, and other small-grain foods. They all hit my gag reflex. Except oatmeal. Not sure why.

7. I LOVE Korean food. Seriously- I could eat my weight in banchan (side dishes), and still come back for more.

8. Well- since everything up till now has been about food- let’s go to something that isn’t food. I love movies. Mostly Action or Sci-Fi but I will watch others. I just have a few stipulations.

  • a. Japanese Horror movies mostly make very little sense (in my opinion). You need to give me a history or a way to stop it. And I have found that a vast majority of them don’t. The horror just is. There is no way to stop it, and no one knows how it began.
  • b. French movies also make very little sense to me. The ones I’ve seen, just seem to be artistic mood pieces. (And maybe it’s just my friends are recommending these types of movies to me.)
  • c. No war movies. I don’t like them. I can’t keep the command hierarchy straight in my head, and I’m just not fond of war movies in general. Or war books, or tv shows.
  • d. No documentaries. I don’t care if it’s a commentary on how fast food restaurants are killing us, or a Morgan Freeman-narrated endearing piece on penguins. No documentaries. I just don’t have the attention span for them.
  • e. And finally – no reading the book before you see the movie. I have seen VERY FEW movies that live up (or down) to the book. 99% of the time- the book is better. I believe the only exceptions (so far) to this are: The Silence of The Lambs, and The Godfather.

9. I don’t understand the Star Wars obsession. My Hubby is a HUGE Star Wars fan, but I just don’t get it. Maybe it’s because I didn’t see any of them until I was an adult. My parents aren’t big Sci-Fi fans, so if it wasn’t Action (non-sci-fi action)/Horror/Thriller (mom), or educational/heart-warming (dad) – I didn’t see it. Maybe it was also that it was also sort of a set of war movies. (At least Episodes 4, 5, and 6 are.) I will watch it with Hubby if he desires, but I’m not a fan. (I will watch everything but Episode 1, that is. No one should have to deal with THAT much Jar Jar.)

10. I love audiobooks. I love books in general, but I don’t get that much time to sit down and read anymore. It will take me a month to finish one decent-sized physical book (or even an ebook), but give me the audio version, and off I go! You can do sooo much while listening to audiobooks. You can listen in the car, on the way to and from work… you can listen at work (if you don’t have a job where you’re on the phone or with customers a lot), or you can listen at home while doing housework (but I still like upbeat music for that), or knitting (see what I did there?). It gives my hands AND brain something to do.

That’s my list!  And now you know ten more things about me.  🙂

