So what started as a reply to a comment ended up as a full-pledged post. Apparently I can get a little talky. 😀

First off- if you love books and you haven’t joined Goodreads– go do it NOW! Like Ravelry- it’s an enabler site. Gives you lots of lovely goodies to add to your To-Be-Read pile. AND for you crafters out there- it also recommends good crafting books. My knitting book consumption increased exponentially, once I saw THAT section!

I consider myself lucky to have a job where I can listen to audiobooks. Because I can listen 7 1/2 to 8 hours a day- I can get through a fair amount of audiobooks in a week. I average 2-3 books a week. I listen to most of my audiobooks through Overdrive, which is a company/app used by my library (and a LOT of libraries around the U.S.). If you are in the U.S., and your local library does not use Overdrive (or they have a poor audiobook selection- you can get a digital library card from another library for a fee. If you are interested- comment and I can give you a few libraries that I know have a pretty good selection of audiobooks, and offer cards to people who live out of the area.

As you know- my core is Science Fiction and Fantasy (although I do read almost any genre). What I generally like to do with audiobooks, is read books that take a few days (for me) to finish. This way I can immerse myself into full worlds of awesome. In between those, I like to do short 2-4 hour biographies or children’s books (OR short books I loved when I was younger). I use these as sort of palate cleansers for my brain.

So without further adieu- here is my list of recommended books that I’ve read sometime during the past 365 days. They are not in any particular order, and I am not including a description. I will include a link to the book page or series page on Goodreads.

Recommended (Audio)Books:

  • 1. The Underland Chronicles  The Underland Chronicles by Suzanne Collins. It’s a set of… I wouldn’t call them children’s books persay… more of a tween thing. (Tween: Not quite a kid, not quite a teen.) If you recognize the author’s name, it’s because she is also the author of the Hunger Games trilogy. And while I like that set of books- I found the Underland Chronicles to be pretty fun! (You’ll probably find Gregor’s siblings to be annoying at first. Just hang in there- they get better.)
  • 2. Ready Player One Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. My not-so-inner geek LOVES this book. Partly because I love video games, and partly because I grew up in the 80s. And it’s read by Wil Wheaton, which is a plus for me, because I am a big Star Trek fan / The Guild-lover / Big Bang Theory lover / Oh- I just love Wil Weaton, okay? 🙂
  • 3. Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy (5-Part Trilogy) by Douglas Adams. That’s right, a 5-part trilogy. Most sites now refer to them as a series, but 5-part trilogy is how Douglas referred to them, and I love that slightly off, but whimsical outlook he has. I have always loved these books. Most people say that the last three just don’t have the feel of the first two, but I disagree. They are all absolutely nuts. As long as you keep that in mind- they all make perfect sense. The audiobooks are read by Martin Freeman, who plays Arthur Dent in the movie.

    There is actually a 6th book that was recently written by Eoin Colfer (of Artemis Fowl series fame), but I have not read it yet, and it does not have good reviews on Goodreads. It probably suffers from the same things most books do, when they start with one author and finish with two. They don’t have the same voice, so the flow of the book is different. I’m in no hurry to read it.

  • 4. I Am Malala I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai. This book makes me want to change the world. And I think that’s a good feeling for a book to instill in you. For the audiobook- Malala only reads the Prologue. It’s probably because of her rehabilitation, but I think she did a remarkable job and wouldn’t have minded her reading the whole thing.
  • 5. If You Ask Me If You Ask Me by Betty White. I love Betty White. I loved her on the Mary Tyler Moore Show (reruns of course- I wasn’t around when the show was airing), The Carol Burnett Show, and on The Golden Girls. I’ve seen lots of tv shows that she was on, but I think the only actual movie I’ve seen her in is The Proposal. And that was released in 2009, so it’s relatively recent. This book just kind of chronicles her acting career, and she seems just as fun on the audiobook as she is in real life.
  • 6. Orange Is The New Black Orange Is The New Black by Piper Kerman. This was an odd choice for me. I was going through current tv programming and looking up to see which shows were based on books (so I could go and read the book, of course!). And I say it’s an odd choice, because the subject normally wouldn’t interest me, but I gave it a go. And found it interesting. Next up in my audiobook queue is Out Of Orange by Cleary Wolters. Not a sequel to Orange is The New Black, but you wouldn’t know Cleary if you didn’t know Piper.
  • 7. Percy Jackson Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan. They’ve made two movies so far, and the movies are okay, but the books are far better. This is probably a proper teen series, but highly enjoyable. AND the last book is as good as the first (something you also don’t see a lot with series books).
  • 8. The Lunar Chronicles The Lunar Chronicles series by Marissa Meyer. I love Fairy Tale retellings. I like to see other takes on classic tales, or tangents people take them through. This is (in my opinion) one of the best retellings I’ve come across so far.
  • 9. The Grimm Legacy The Grim Legacy by Polly Shulman. This weird little book is not a fairy tale retelling. But it does involve fairy tales. It’s very hard to describe. I think it is a book that you will either love or hate. I don’t think there’s an in-between. There are two more books (so far) in this series, but I have not gotten to the Wells Bequest (#2) yet, and The Poe Estate (#3) is due to be released sometime this year.
  • 10. Storm Front Storm Front (Book 1 of the Dresden Files) by Jim Butcher. I will admit- I started this book solely because the first 12 books of this series are read by James Marsters. If you have seen the Buffy the Vampire Slayer or Angel TV shows, you know that James plays Spike on those TV shows. He’s done 48 other movie/TV things, but those two are definitely the main things you would know him from. Or as Captain John Hart from the second season of Torchwood. If you don’t know him- he has a GREAT voice. Absolutely terrific.

    Anyway- back to the book. I was pleasantly surprised that I actually liked the book. It’s your average detective novel, but throw in the supernatural and a stupid-when-it-comes-to-women protagonist, and things get interesting VERY QUICKLY. I have also listened to the second book (Fool Moon), and am on my library’s Hold List for the third.

And the honorable mention (that I didn’t read in the last 365 days, but I think deserves a mention is:

No Passengers Beyond This Point No Passengers Beyond This Point by Gennifer Choldenko.

I read this in May of 2014, and this was one of those nothing-I-want-to-read-is-currently-available choices. I probably had eight or so books on hold, and I had just finished my current audiobook and needed something to read. Since you can search by genre and currently available- this book was near the top of the list. And it’s good. It’s a Wizard of Oz-type story, where the protagonist is swept off to a different land and has to get back home, but it’s still an enjoyable read. I’m glad I found it.
So there’s my list! If you find something you want to read from it, then I’m glad I helped.

Currently in my ears: Voyage Of The Dawn Treader Voyage of The Dawn Treader by C.S. Lewis.

Oh, and if you want to be my friend, I am:
on Ravelry- http://www.ravelry.com/people/adais
on Goodreads- https://www.goodreads.com/Haveah
on Pinterest – http://www.pinterest.com/adaisknit

I have Facebook and Twitter, but I am rarely on either.

