I don’t like row counters.

Most of the ones I’ve seen are bulky and get in my way.
Or they look like they were made for/by preschool students.

Even the ones that dangle like stitch markers.

And then there are the huge ones that hang from your neck like stop watches.

So very early this year- one of the blogs I follow put me on to row counter rings. I don’t remember which one (sorry!), but I do remember that she said she loved this particular one by Kristan MacIntyre:

I love it, and I stalked her page to see when they will be available. Well about a month ago- she put up that pricing list. I know it’s hand-crafted, but $200 is a LOT for a non-engagement, non-anniversary ring! Plus- I’m on a budget, and if I’m going to spend $200 – it’s going to be on YARN. Priorities, people. Priorities.

So I looked around to see if I could find anything cheaper. The only thing I seemed to find, were the big plastic-looking digital row counter rings.

Better, but still kind of looks like it comes with a coloring book. (Actually- that would be FANTASTIC!  I need another coloring book.  Seriously.)  Also- the reviews for some of these are that it’s very easy to hit the button by accident and advance your count.

And look at it close up:

That’s huge! I think it would interfere with my knitting. And if it doesn’t- can you imagine forgetting that you have it on and going out in public with it?

So one day I was doing a search for row counter rings, and I forgot to add the ‘row’.
And the very first thing that popped up for counter rings was CritSuccess.

They are a site for Role Playing Game (RPG) rings. I love RPGs anyway, so I thought I’d have a look. I was looking at their D20 dice ring; which I may get sometime later, but it’s not applicable to my current needs. And then I saw their counter ring.

The ring goes up to 100 (00), AND comes in different colors. So if you need a ring for specific PARTS of your knitting project, it comes in whole and half sizes (although most of the half sizes are currently sold out).  They also recommend going up a half size for the tri-band rings (like the counter ring).  It was $25, and they ship pretty quickly.  They are located in Washington D.C., and they ship pretty much anywhere.

This is the close-up of the Black size 11 on my index finger:

I could use an 11 1/2, but that one was sold out. And the 11 fits pretty well, so I have no complaints. It’s narrower than I thought it would be, but it works perfectly. And that little wavy piece of metal in the middle serves to ‘lock’ the numbers so they don’t easily rotate. This will keep the count from accidentally advancing, if you knock your finger against something. And it’s stylish enough that I’m wearing it to work today and no one has noticed. (I’m wearing it partly because I need to get used to having a ring on my index finger, and partly because I also knit at work, and I want to be able to keep track of what row I’m on.)

If you decide to get one, you will need to rotate each number band all the way around at least twice, to loosen them up a bit. They are VERY TIGHT starting out.

