http://blog.yarn.com/31-days-to-get-organized-how-to-organize-your-yarn-stash/

Day 13: How To Organize Your Stash

This day is tips on how to arrange your stash. Which way do you find best to sort your yarn. By color, or weight, or fiber? By project? By care (machine washable versus hand wash)? Is your yarn just for show? And how do you contain your scraps?

Right now I’m sort of arranged by project. Those yarns that have a project already, or are easy to assign to a project stay in one bin. I surf this bin quite frequently. Usually when I’m itching to cast on something.

Then the rest of the yarn goes in a second bin. No real rhyme or reason, but I am trying to group yarns by type. Acrylic goes in one big gallon-sized zip-top bag. Wool goes in another. Cotton in another.
Choosing containers:
That’s easy. Plastic bins.
I used to keep my yarn open for viewing on a bookcase, but that’s no longer the case. I don’t want to make it easy for critters to munch on my yarn. Also- with the older stuff- it gets dusty out in the open.

No baskets. I’m not a fan of baskets. To me- a basket sitting around is an open invitation to accumulate stuff. And it may not be new stuff, but stuff just ends up migrating to the basket.

No decorative containers. I have a cat with very little regard for pretty. Things get knocked over all the time. It’s just not worth it to put out pretty glass jars of yarn, with Shadow on the hunt.

