The 1st Liebster Award

This award is given to bloggers by other bloggers. It has German origins – the word “liebster” has several definitions, but usually means dearest or beloved. It is supposed to be given to a blogger who has less than 200 followers.

I was nominated by Afthead, and I’m honored that she loves my blog. Thank you.

So without further adieu – the questions!

1. Why do you blog?
-Mainly to hold myself accountable. It’s another level of ‘If you say you’re going to do it, then do it’. But it has since become a way of sharing my favorite things with other people. Whether it be knitting, or writing, or food, etc etc.

2. When is your favorite time to write?
-It’s probably about 2 o’clock in the afternoons. The hustle and bustle of morning or lunch has stopped, and you haven’t quite gotten around to rush hour yet, so it’s a calm and quiet time.

3. Where is your favorite place to write?
Panera Bread Bakery Cafe. Or any cafe, really. I can’t write at home. Waaay too many distractions. I need the white noise of people doing every day things in order for the creative juices to flow.

4. What device do you prefer to write on or with?
It depends.
If I know I’m going to be in one spot for at least two hours- I will use my Alphasmart Dana. (I posted about it here.) These aren’t for sale anymore, so you can only find them secondhand. They cut down on distractions, so all you do is write.
If it’s less than an hour (or a previously unknown amount of time)- a notebook and pen work just fine.
If I only have a few minutes- I will jot down my thoughts in my smartphone.

5. What is your favorite blog post you have ever written?
My favorite actually is not a blog post, but one I did on Facebook. I think I will post it here, though. It’s very relevant to the frustrating time I’ve had with finding somewhere else to live.

6. What is your writing dream? To write a better book than Twilight. Sorry Stephenie Meyer fans – I just can’t stand that series. Or The Host. So if I can create something I deem to be BETTER than that, then I have achieved my dream.

7. What keeps you from realizing that dream?
Laziness. And procrastination. I’m REALLY good at doing both of those. Oh, and money. Since I sit in cafes- I can’t justify sitting for hours and hours, and not buy a few things every couple of hours. It’s only right. But it adds up.

8. If you could have an hour with any author, who would you spend it with?
Probably JK Rowling, but not for the reasons you think. I’d like to sit her down and tell her to LET IT GO. The Harry Potter series is fantastic, but she keeps scratching at it, like a freshly scabbed wound; and it’s ANNOYING. Just move on to something else and let Harry become a classic. Stop defining everyone and everything.
I’m going to separate both Liebster Awards, so on to the next post!

