Only two more days!  I can’t believe I’ve survived!

http://blog.yarn.com/31-days-to-get-organized-storing-your-finished-projects/

Day 29: Storing Your Finished Projects

Today’s post is all about storing your knits. I don’t really have any special storing places. For me- finished objects are meant to be used. This is the first year that I’ve been proactive at all about my knitwear- I have hats and scarves ready to go for when it gets colder. But normally- I knit them as needed, so they get pressed into service right away.

My current storage place is my class bin. I show all my finished products to my class, and if they want to learn how to make it- I figure out the easiest way to do it, and share it with them. So all of the scarves and hats I have finished so far are sitting there. The blanket is already in use, and once I finish the current blanket- that will go in use right away.

My older knits (hats, scarves, fingerless gloves) stay with my winter coats. And actually- I just stuff the gloves in one pocket, the hat in the other, and wrap the scarf around the hanger the coat is on. They don’t get special treatment, just because they are handmade. They MUST be able to stand up to the normal wear and tear of my household.

The post also mentions cleaning knitwear, removing pills, and repairing any holes before storing. Oh, and that you should stack similar gauge sweaters together. I don’t do all of these things. Mainly because I don’t yet have any handknit sweaters, and I don’t have much yarn that pills.  But I DO know that you should put your lighter knits on top of your heavier ones.  This way- the weight doesn’t distort the stitches of the sweaters on the bottom.  It is better (in general) to store your knit sweaters flat, rather than hanging them up, because hangers can distort the shape of the sweater.

The post also mentions (again) how artful storing can also display your fabulous knitwear. Umm- excuse me, but unless I’m WEARING IT – I’m going to be the only one seeing my stored knitwear. I’m not going to invite random strangers into my bedroom to show them my display of knitted items. That’s just weird. And crossing into some sort of strange knitting voyeurism.

