In case you didn’t know- Yarnology is one of Hobby Lobby’s “house brands”. A house brand is a line of products exclusive to that particular store (or chain of stores). Like Kroger’s Private Selection brand, or Wal-Mart’s Great Value or Member’s Mark brands. Most chain stores have their own house brands. They’re actually called private label brands, but I like the term “house brand” better. It’s like when you go into a bar, and
they have their own “house brand” of liquors. It’s usually the cheap stuff, but sometimes it is better than the name brand stuff.

I recently stopped by Hobby Lobby on my way to a hockey game. I was intending to snag a pair of Clover Takumi bamboo circular needles (try saying that 5 times fast), but they did not have the size or length I needed. So I snagged four pairs of Yarnology needles. I bought US size 6 (4 mm), US size 8 (5 mm), US size 10 (6 mm), and US size 11 (8 mm)
needles. All 29″ circulars. At $2.59 – $2.69 a pair – I was skeptical.  Extremely skeptical. That price point tells me that they are cheap. It also tells me that the less-than-stellar reviews I’ve heard about these are probably true.

However- I wasn’t too concerned. Since they have NO metal
attachments (which means they will slide past the stadium’s metal detectors easy peasy); as long as they lasted the night- they were worth the price.

This is the product description on the Hobby Lobby website:
Never sew a seam again! If you haven’t tried knitting in the round yet, here’s the way to do it. These fun, swizzled acrylic circulars are economical and provide a moderate amount of grip — perfect for beginners and slippery fibers.

Even if you already have circulars in this size, at this price you can go ahead and treat yourself! You’ll have a great time working with these pretty needles.

To date- I have only used the US size 11s. I knit 41 inches of a bulky yarn scarf in 2 1/2 hours (the length of the hockey game).

The yarnology needles are acrylic (with a nice twisted design in them), with a plastic tubing cable. I would say that these needles work fine for the larger sizes, as long as you’re not doing anything fancy. So no magic loop knitting, and probably no complicated, precision-required cabling.  I’m not a fan of the plastic tubing (it’s definitely a tube, not a cord)- it seems.. well… CHEAP, but the join is not hugely noticeable. What IS
noticeable, is they kind of crimped the tube right where the needle ends, which makes it bend slightly. I suppose that this is to help keep the tubing from pulling away from the needles, but I do find it annoying. But I’ve had worse, in the way of circular cables *coughBOYLENEEDLEScough*, so I can’t complain too much.

Knitting-wise, they aren’t bad. Acrylic doesn’t have the clink sound that metal needles have (although, if you slow down a bit- you don’t have to make that sound), and they move faster than wood or bamboo. I will have to make myself knit with the size 6s, to see if there’s any danger of snapping the needles, or having the tubing pull away from the needles. But so far- they are a decent pair of cheap needles. At least in the larger sizes.

I don’t have a finished picture of the scarf, because I still need to add fringe, but here is a picture I took of the in-progress scarf after the game:

The yarn is Deborah Norville Serenity Chunky in the Puppy Dog Tails colorway. They claim this yarn is Super Bulky. But I think the line gets a little hazy on anything above worsted. I’d say it’s just Bulky.

