1. Do you have a certain place at home for reading?
No. I read in the living room, kitchen, bathroom, or bedroom. Whenever the mood strikes- I read.

2. Bookmark or random piece of paper?
Both. Bookmarks are usually fancy, and because they’re all laminated for durability- they tend to slip out and get lost. A random store receipt that I’m never going to look at again, though- works perfectly.

3. Can you just stop reading on do you have to stop at the end of a chapter/after a certain number of pages?
I like to have a well-defined stopping place… the end of a chapter or the end of a section (usually separated by a space or ellipsis). Basically I just need a clearly defined way to know where I am when I resume reading.

4. Do you eat or drink while reading?
Of course! I try not to spill anything on the book, though.

5. Multitasking: music or TV whilst reading?
Not specifically. I can read while someone else is watching TV or listening to music, but I tend to only knit or crochet while I’m reading. However- I CAN listen to music while writing.

6. One book at a time or several at once?
As long as they are different genres- I can read several books at once. Something SciFi pairs well with an autobiography. However- if they are both the same genre- sometimes the details mix and I have a hard time remembering which book something happened in.

7. Reading at home or everywhere?
Anywhere and EVERYWHERE!

8. Reading aloud or silently in your head?
Silently in my head. Unless I’m sleepy, then reading aloud helps the brain to process what’s happening, thus keeping me awake. 🙂

9. Do you read ahead or skip pages?
I only read ahead or skip pages when the book is in serious need of editing. Like Inheritance by Christopher Paolini. I love the series, but the last book was almost completely unnecessary. So I wiki-ed the plot, and found out what happened, then skipped over to the next interesting part.

10. Breaking the spine or keeping it new?
Break the spine! A sure sign of a well loved book is a broken spine.

11. Do you write in books?
No!  Well… not the ones I read for pleasure. If it’s required reading for school- then yes. Write in them, put sticky flags, so you can go back to that section when it’s time to do a paper on the book… dog ear pages- ALL of the stuff I don’t normally do to reading-for-pleasure books- I do to required-reading books.

 

Stolen from Writing Crafter

