Day 12: Your Favorite Childhood Book

This is a hard one. It’s also a little ambiguous. Is it my favorite book I read before I reached my teens, or my favorite child’s book (as in simple story that kids can read and enjoy)? Because- I’ve been reading pretty much EVERYTHING since I learned to read and my dad signed me up for a library card. I first read Jurassic Park when I was… maybe 10 years old. I was very much into Thrillers and Mysteries, so books by authors like Dean R. Koontz were ALWAYS in my stack of books to checkout. I’m going to assume it means my favorite CHILD’S BOOK. That doesn’t make it any easier, but it does rule out Michael Crichton and Dean R. Koontz.

I know my dad read pretty much everything to me when I was a kid (until I learned to read myself), so I have favorite AUTHORS, but when you ask for just one book that I love- that’s problematic. Let’s start with favorite authors.

I love pretty much ALL of the Dr. Seuss books, the Berenstain Bears (Stan and Jan Berenstain), and the books of Shel Silverstein. But- if I had to choose JUST ONE, it would probably be Where The Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak

I love this book so much that I have bought a copy to keep. I tell people that it’s for my kids (when I decide to have them), but it’s really for me. 🙂

