Day 14: 3 Healthy Habits

1. I read. Every day, Even if it’s only a paragraph or two- exercising your mind is important. Nowadays- most people only read what’s on a gossip site. Now THAT’S not healthy.

I also like working logic problems and word searches. Pennywise (the publishing company) has an app for logic puzzles. They release a new one each week. I have that app, and I still like buying the books. So far- neither have overlapped.

2. I knit and crochet. Studies show that people who work with their hands on a regular basis are less likely to develop diseases like Alzheimer’s and dementia when they get older.

3. I’m growing my own tomatoes. In an effort to eat more vegetables, AND to stop being reliant on Hothouse vegetables- I’m trying my hand at growing something. I have four containers of tomato plants currently NOT dying at my front entrance. One of them even has a blossom on it! Tomatoes are coming!!!!!

(And a huge thanks to Hubby for watering them when I forget to. Which is OFTEN.)

–What is a Hothouse vegetable? It’s a vegetable (or fruit) that is usually picked BEFORE it is ripened, and then it is ripened artificially in a warehouse somewhere. Basically- it’s to lengthen the shelf life of the vegetable, so grocery stores can sell more of them. However- artificial ripening usually results in a pretty, BUT tasteless vegetable. If it has no taste, then WHY would I want to eat it?

