It’s rainbow day! I like rainbows, and right now- I’m a little stuck on them.

So I thought I’d do something a little different:

1. Zombie Rainbow
Yarn: 100% superwash merino wool
Weight: worsted, 100 grams

Thoughts: I hated this one at first. I bought some silver grey dye, and I wanted to give it a whirl. Except that it’s more purple than silver. It’s a purple grey- almost a lavender or thistle. (Grab that 96 colors box of crayons, and you’ll see what I mean. Silver and thistle are not the same color. Neither are grey and thistle.)

See what I mean? On what planet is that silver?

Fortunately- I named it EXACTLY right. To my eye- the purple grey almost starts leaching out the brightness of the other colors. So the purple grey is in fact a zombie, feasting on the brains of the other colors. (Sorry, other colors.) And once I reskeined it- the purple grey fits in nicely. (Also- the red bled a bit into the purple grey, and it looked a little like blood. So the zombie rainbow is complete.  🙂

2. Rainbow (long colorway)
Yarn: 60% Suri alpaca / 40% merino wool
Weight: worsted, 100 grams

Thoughts: I used leftover dye from my other rainbow experiments, so the amounts varied. Next time I will measure each, as the blue exhausted before it fully covered. So it has a few light spots. Only the orange actually misbehaved. It wicked up into the yellow and pooled at the bottom, so I have mostly a orange-yellow, instead of a true yellow. Other than that- it was a fantastic success. Loved the process… and I need a bigger microwave. It’s hard to get six cups in there on the rotating plate at the same time.

Also- alpaca and merino wool?  Very nice together.  Sooo soft.


And speaking of rainbows- I’m knitting up the Clown Hair.

It’s a short colorway, but I think it looks fabulous in this Van Gogh Shawl.

Here’s where I am so far:

I’m just going to knit until I run out of yarn. I call it Van Gogh Rainbow.  🙂

