So after working up this lovely deliciousness:

I thought I was ready to cast on.

 

I’m one of those people who doesn’t really care about gauge.  I do a gauge swatch, but I really just do it to tell me how off I’m going to be from the original pattern.  After all- I took a gauge class at Stitches South last year, and they just confirmed what I already suspected- gauge is as individual as the person.  If you can get someone else’s gauge- you are a special unicorn.  But mostly you just work the pattern to fit YOUR gauge.

So I’m going to be a maverick on this pattern.

I picked out the pattern- I will be working that lovely Cinnamon and Spice into Harvest:

Picture copyright: Tin Can Knits

Isn’t it gorgeous?  And I think Cinnamon and Spice would compliment it fabulously!

 

The pattern calls for 4 mm and 5 mm needles.  I’m using 7 mm. (Because it’s my new Karbonz needles and I love them, that’s why!) Row Gauge is supposed to be 18 stitches to 4 inches.  I get 13 stitches to 4 inches.  So what’s a crazy knitter to do?  Easy!  Go down three sizes in the pattern!

I casted on last night, and made it through the whole collar… before I messed up.  I picked out the provisional cast on waaaaay too early. (In my defense- I’ve never done a provisional cast on before, crochet or not.)  So I’m going to have to rip back all 59 ridges of collar and start over with the cast on.  And trust that when it says pick up and knit the provisional stitches of the cast on- it does not mean PICK OUT the waste yarn and knit the live stitches.  That comes later.

 

