A Book Check-In

 

What I am currently reading:

Pathfinder by Orson Scott Card
-I’ve read this one before, but it’s been a while. And since I want to move onto the second book, I thought I should go back and reread, so I know what’s going on.

What I just finished reading:

The Library at Mt. Char by Scott Hawkins
-This is perhaps the weirdest book I have read. But very good. It’s hard to explain. Give it a shot- at least three chapters. You will start off lost, but you should get your bearings by the third chapter.

 
What I plan to read next (which is subject to change):

Ruins (Pathfinder #2) by Orson Scott Card
Yeah… there may be a few that jump line, but I’ll get to this one relatively soon. The general consensus on Mr. Card is that he’s good at standalone books. They say he’s not really good with keeping the focus across multiple books; so I’m a little apprehensive about starting this one. Having read the Ender Quintet (Ender’s Game, Ender in Exile, Speaker for the Dead, Xenocide, and Children of the Mind)- I can say that he was fine through Speaker for the Dead. Xenocide started the drop off. (Since Ender in Exile was written long after the other four- I don’t really count it as a part of this phenomena.) For the Mither Mages series- he should have just stopped at the first book. The drop off is very noticeable with that series. Other than the Ender’s Shadow books (which I really just count as peripherals of Ender’s Game)- I haven’t read any of his other serials. Just standalone books.

