http://blog.yarn.com/31-days-to-get-organized-tips-for-photographing-your-finished-objects/

Day 23: Tips for Photographing Your Finished Objects

Tip # 1: Use Natural Light
Unfortunately this is mostly not an option for me. Since I work all day, and knit all night (okay- I sleep in there somewhere), usually the only time I have to photograph my pieces is when I have finally finished that last row at 2 am, or once I get to work. I work in a warehouse, so the only place (inside or out) that I feel comfortable photographing my work (because of the dust and dirt) is on my desk.  And that is because I clean it myself. So no natural light on 90% of my photos. On the rare day off or trip out of town- I will endevor to find a photo-worthy spot while we’re out and about.

Tip #2: Prepare an easily accessible surface or backdrop
This is usually my work desk. I try to clear out as much of the clutter, so I can take the photograph, but sometimes my pesky computer photobombs the shot.

Tip # 3: When the weather is cooperative- take your photos outside
I agree- natural light is better, but unless I use the car as a backdrop- there is no place I’d voluntarily lay my handknits down on or up against.

Tip # 4: Find a dependable backdrop or setting for quick photos
This is usually a blank wall, or an interesting (but not more-so than your handknits) bit of scenery. Of which I don’t have a lot of. Around me at home- tennis court… dogs (not mine)… and a cat that doesn’t like things to be laid on him. No blank wall space, unless you count that mirror wall in the dining room, and then you run into the same situation as bathroom selfies. It’s just awkward.

Tip #5: Ask a friend or family member to model your work
I can definitely start doing this. But probably just with my Hubby. My cat hates modeling THINGS.

Tip #6: Props can add character to a garment piece
This one is interesting. Like if your knittedwear is gloves or mittens- take a picture with the model holding an umbrella. Or if your knittedwear is summer-related, use a beach ball or picnic basket…

I’m not sure how I feel about this. I want my knitwear to be the star of the show- at least for the picture. But props could be fun… I’ll have to experiment…

Tip #7: Take closer photos of design elements (don’t forget to photograph the piece from all angles)
I’ve done this before. The angle I was using just made my Class Hat look drab. But when I shot it from slightly above- it just looked better. So changing your angle may make for a better picture.

Tip #8: Don’t be afraid to take a bad picture
Bad pictures teach you things. Like light placement… angles… and that particular bed spread is just too busy for this piece of knittedwear.

